Breaking News
More () »

Host of Toledo mayor, city council hopefuls file for shot at seats on November ballot

Carty Finkbeiner, 82, is among the mayoral candidates vying to beat incumbent Wade Kapszukiewicz. Larry Sykes hopes to return to city council.

TOLEDO, Ohio — At Friday's 4 p.m. filing deadline, fall's slate of Toledo city government candidates has shaped up. This year's general election is Nov. 2.

For the mayoral contest, six people pulled petitions and of those, three have filed and are running to be Toledo's next mayor: 

  • Wade Kapszukiewicz (incumbent, Democrat)
  • Jan K.M. Scotland (R)
  • Carty Finkbeiner (independent)

Thirty-one individuals turned in petitions to run for six at-large Toledo City Council seats and of those, the following have filed and are running: 


  • Nick Komives
  • Tiffany Preston Whitman
  • Katie Moline
  • Cerssandra McPherson
  • Mac Driscoll
  • Sam Harden
  • Michele Grim
  • Larry Sykes
  • Steve Fought
  • Adam Martinez
  • Daniel Ortiz
  • James Kushlan
  • Alfonso Narvaez


  • George Sarantou
  • Tim Ryan
  • Michael Knight
  • Ron Murphy
  • Brenda Snyder
  • Tom Names
  • Glen Cook
  • Tony Dia


  • Harvey Savage Jr
  • Jim Hill 
  • Jody Carroll

The current incumbent at-large Toledo City Council members are Cecelia Marie Adams, John M. Hobbs III, Nick Komives, Rob Ludeman, Cerssandra McPherson, Katie Moline, Tiffany Preston Whitman and Vanice Williams.

RELATED: Former Toledo Mayor Carty Finkbeiner intends to file petitions for mayoral run Friday

RELATED: Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz announces second run for mayor in re-election kick-off campaign

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out