Lucas County residents Joan Durgin and Billie Johnson are among 13 women who will be inducted into the Ohioana Library's Ohio Women's Hall of Fame on Thursday, September 18.

"This year marks the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the Ohio Women's Hall of Fame (OWHF).

The 365 current members come from all walks of life, and each has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to excellence, achievement and service to others," said Ohioana Executive Director Linda Hengst.

"The 13 new inductees are no exception. Their accomplishments and contributions to our state and nation will inspire Ohioans of all ages."

Ms. Durgin is a force for the support and advancement of young women and girls in Toledo and northwest Ohio.

She developed the School Based Health Clinics in Toledo Public Schools that provide everything from disease prevention to primary health care.

In 2003, Ms. Durgin founded the Polly Fox Academy, an alternative school for pregnant and parenting teen girls. She has lived in northwest Ohio for most of her life and currently works for Toledo Public Schools.

As executive director and CEO of the Area Office on Aging of Northwestern Ohio, Ms. Johnson is above all an advocate for the elderly.

She established online services for seniors and has been an active member of local and national advocacy groups.

She has been serving older Ohioans in northwestern Ohio for more than three decades.

Other inductees are: Dorothy Champion Baunach, Jih-Fen Lei and Elizabeth Stewart Magee of Cuyahoga County; Carrie Nelson Black, Yvette McGee Brown and Loann Crane of Franklin County; Caro Bayley Bosca, Clark County; Carol Gibbs, Hamilton County; Kasturi Rajadhyaksha of Delaware County; Julie Salamon of Adams County, and Michele Wheatly, Ph.D., of Greene County.

The Ohio Women's Hall of Fame was established in 1978, by the Women's Division of the Ohio Bureau of Employment Services (now part of the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services) to publicly recognize the many outstanding contributions Ohio women have made to the state and nation.

The Ohio Women's Hall of Fame serves as a daily tribute to these women who are an ongoing source of pride and inspiration for all Ohioans-especially the state's next generation of leaders.

The 2008 OWHF Induction ceremony will be held at 5 p.m., in the Ohio Statehouse Atrium. It is free and open to the public, but reservations are required by September 10 for the reception that will follow the induction.