Breaking News
More () »

WTOL 11 wins Regional Murrow Award for 'Guilty Without Proof' investigation

The investigation highlights a decades-old murder and the two men behind bars who for 20 years have said they had nothing to do with a teen's slaying.

TOLEDO, Ohio — WTOL 11 has won a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Investigative Reporting for 11 Investigates: Guilty Without Proof

Lead Investigator Brian Dugger and Senior Photographer Eric Rerucha examined a decades-old Toledo murder and the two men who are behind bars for the crime. 

Karl Willis and Wayne Braddy have spent 20 years saying they have zero to do with the death of 13-year-old Maurice Purifie. The investigation invites viewers to hear their story for the first time ever, and decide for yourself.  

The investigation aired as a half-hour special last year. The station now is under consideration for a National Murrow Award and is advancing to the National Murrow Award competition. 

RELATED: 11 Investigates: Guilty Without Proof

RELATED: 11 Investigates: Man who implicated 2 in teen's 1998 murder says he lied in his confession, with police help

RELATED: 11 Investigates: Prosecutor's office discovers 1998 interview videos of Travis Slaughter regarding murder of 13-year-old

RELATED: 11 Investigates: Family of 13-year-old murder victim speaks out about the verdict that sent 2 men to prison for life

RELATED: 11 Investigates: Conviction & Integrity - What is being done to ensure the guilty are really guilty?

Selected from a record of more than five thousand entries, these regional winners represent the best in local broadcast news. 

“Murrow Award-winning journalism upholds the guiding principles of RTDNA’s Code of Ethics: truth, accuracy, fairness, context, independence, transparency and accountability for consequences,” said RTDNA Chairman Terence Shepherd. “Displaying technical excellence, creativity and innovation, this year’s winners have empowered audiences across the country to make more informed decisions for themselves and to become closer to their communities.” 

More than 750 awards in 14 regions represent more than 350 local radio and television news outlets from 49 states and four countries.

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.
The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.
Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions. Regional winners are automatically considered for a National award. Network competitors are judged at the national level.

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out