Jefferson Awards honors 3 for public service - News, Weather, Sports, Toledo, OH

Jefferson Awards honors 3 for public service

Davis Davis
Ruppert Ruppert
Findlay Findlay

From The Blade, a News 11 media partner:


The top Jefferson Award recipients include an advocate against domestic violence who teaches law, a businessman and philanthropist, and a physician who was a medical college president.

About 300 attended a ceremony last night at the Park Inn downtown during which Gabrielle Davis, James R. Findlay, and Dr. Richard Ruppert were recognized for public service to northwest Ohio. WTOL News 11's Brad Harvey emceed the event.

Ms. Davis is a clinical professor at the University of Toledo college of law, where she is director of the domestic violence clinic. A graduate of the UT law school and a lawyer, she also represents clients pro bono. She has sought civil protection orders and referred victims to social-service groups, so they might live in violence-free homes.

Mr. Findlay is an entrepreneur who founded Impact Products, a maker of sanitary and janitorial supplies, and sold the company in 2001 for $21 million - $18 million of which went to his staff.

He has been a benefactor of youth programs such as House of Emmanuel, which helps teens, Big Brothers and Big Sisters, and college scholarships.

Dr. Ruppert came to Toledo in 1977 as the third president of what was then the Medical College of Ohio, from which he retired in 1993. His accomplishments include expanding MCO's programs and overseeing completion of its master plan.

He is a former chairman of the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority. He has been a trustee of the Ohio Historical Society and helped organize a Rotary Club fund-raiser for community activities. He helped raise state and private money to build a visitors center at Fort Meigs in Perrysburg.

Their names will be sent to the American Institute for Public Service, creator of the awards, and one will be invited to a national celebration in Washington.

They received their honors from Greg Moore, national director of the Jefferson Awards for Public Service, and Chrys Peterson and Brad Harvey, news anchors at WTOL-TV, Channel 11, which was a sponsor. Others sponsors were The Blade and Buckeye CableSystem.

A panel selected 10 other finalists, including Christa Adams; Richard Baron; Labib Hajjar; Harlan Joelson; Dr. David Krol; Hindea Markowicz; Debra Monagan; Grace Recknagel; Shirley Anne Roeger, and Dan Rogers.

Powered by Frankly