State voter registration deadlines

State Registration Deadlines

State

Deadline for Receipt of Voter Registration Application

2008 Deadline for Receipt of a Mailed Request for an Absentee Ballot

Alabama

Fri. Oct. 24

By October 30

Alaska

Postmarked Oct. 4

By October 25

Arizona

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 24

Arkansas

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

California

Mon. Oct. 20

By October 28

Colorado

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 24

Connecticut

Tues. Oct. 21

By October 21

Delaware

Sat. Oct. 11

By October 31

Dist. of Columbia

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Florida

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 29

Georgia

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 31

Hawaii

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Idaho

Register at Polls

By October 29

Illinois

Tues. Oct. 7

By October 30

Indiana

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 27

Iowa

Fri. Oct. 24 (or at Polls)

By October 31

Kansas

Mon. Oct. 20

By October 31

Kentucky

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Louisiana

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 31

Maine

Tue. Oct. 21 (or at Polls)

By October 21

Maryland

Tue. Oct. 14

By October 28

Massachusetts

Wed. Oct. 15

By November 3

Michigan

Mon. Oct. 6

By November 1

Minnesota

Can register at Polls

By October 21

Mississippi

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 21

Missouri

Wed. Oct. 8

By October 29

Montana

Mon. Oct. 6 (or at Polls)

By November 3

Nebraska

Fri. Oct. 24

By October 27

Nevada

Oct. 4 (or Oct. 14 in-person)

By October 28

New Hampshire

Can register at Polls

By October 21.

New Jersey

Tues. Oct. 14

By October 28

New Mexico

Tues. Oct. 7

By October 31

New York

Fri. Oct. 10

By October 28

North Carolina

Fri. Oct. 10

By October 28

North Dakota

N/A

By October 21

Ohio

Mon. Oct. 6

By November 1

Oklahoma

Fri. Oct. 10

By October 29

Oregon

Tue. Oct. 14

By October 31

Pennsylvania

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Rhode Island

Sat. Oct. 4

By October 14

South Carolina

Sat. Oct. 4

By October 31

South Dakota

Mon. Oct. 20

3 pm Election Day

Tennessee

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Texas

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Utah

Oct. 6 (or Oct. 28 in-person)

By October 31

Vermont

Wed. Oct. 29

By November 3 

Virginia

Mon. Oct. 6

By October 28

Washington

Oct. 4 (or Oct. 20 in-person)

By October 21

West Virginia

Wed. Oct. 15

By October 29

Wisconsin

Wed. Oct. 15 (or at Polls)

By October 30

Wyoming

Can register at Polls

By October 21