Toledo native Jackie Calmes to speak at Touchstone Awards

From a news release:


The Press Club of Toledo will present the 10th annual Touchstone Awards on Thursday, October 2 at the Toledo Club, 235 14th Street. The Press Club recognizes newsmakers and newsbreakers in the northwest Ohio region through its prestigious Touchstone Awards.

Keynote speaker Jackie Calmes grew up in Toledo and earned her bachelors degree in Journalism at the University of Toledo and master's degree in Journalism at Northwestern University. Calmes is the economic policy reporter at the New York Times and a panelist on PBS' Washington Week. She previously served as a national correspondent in the Washington bureau of the Wall Street Journal. In the late 1990s, she was one of the Journal's two White House correspondents.  She was also a news editor for the Journal's "Politics and Policy" page. In May 2005, Calmes was awarded the Gerald R. Ford Journalism Prize for Reporting on the Presidency.

Excellence in Journalism Awards will be presented to print and broadcast media. A Golden Touchstone award will be presented to an individual who has had a positive impact on journalism in northwest Ohio; a Contributor Award will be presented to a person or organization whose efforts have had a positive impact on the region over the last twelve months and a Lifetime Achiever Award will be presented to a community person who has exhibited a long-term commitment to residents and whose endeavors have had a consistent and positive impact on the region.

The Press Club invites the community to attend this event. Tickets are $75 for non-members of the Press Club and $45 for students. Reservations can be made by calling 419-578-2441 or 419-887-3535. Cocktails and grazing begin at 5:30 p.m. with award presentations at 7:15 p.m.

Past recipients of the Contributor Award include: Labib Hajjar; Marna Ramnath; Tim Yenrick; Jim Jackson; Dennis Johnson; Lucas County Commissioners, Mud Hens Baseball Club and Fifth Third Bank; and Clyde Scoles.  Recipients of the Lifetime Achiever Award are:  Jan Skunda; Elizabeth Ruppert, M.D.; Richard Ransom; William Block, Jr.; Don Saunders; J. Patrick Nicholson; James F. White, Jr. and Mildred Benson. Golden Touchstone recipients include Jerry Anderson, Tom Walton, Frank Seely, Don Edwards, Diane Larson and Richard Knecht.

The Press Club of Toledo is dedicated to promoting the advancement of ethical journalism and fostering fellowship among representatives of the media and those they cover.