UT Medical Mission Hall of Fame inducts new class

From a University of Toledo news release:

The University Of Toledo College Of Medicine's Medical Mission Hall of Fame will induct its fifth class of honorees on Saturday, April 5, 2008 from 7:30 to 9:30 p.m. in the atrium of the Center for Creative Education on UT's Health Science Campus.

This year's inductees are Nathan Barlow, MD (posthumous); Peter  Hotez, MD, PhD; Editha Canete-Miguel, MD, FPCP; and Victor C. Rambo, MD (posthumous).

Also to be recognized that evening will be John Bul Dau, who will receive the Lawrence V. Conway Distinguished Service Award, and Rep. Marcy Kaptur, who will receive the Lawrence V. Conway Lifetime Distinguished Service Award.

Conway, of Toledo, founded the Medical Mission Hall of Fame in 2004 to honor those individuals and/or organizations that have made significant and substantial contributions to advancing the medical well-being of people throughout the world. The Medical Mission Hall of Fame became an affiliate of UT's College of Medicine in 2006. A permanent home for the Medical Mission Hall of Fame has been established in the atrium of the Center for Creative Education.

Barlow spent most of his medical career ministering to the poor in Africa, mainly in Ethiopia where he started the Mossy Foot Project, resulting in more than 15 clinics across the country, treating tens of thousands of needy patients.

An internationally recognized medical parasitologist, vaccinologist, and tropical disease expert, Hotez, of Washington, D.C., is breaking new ground in the control of neglected tropical diseases caused by parasitic helminths, or worm parasites, and the development of vaccines that combat them. He is professor and chair of the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Tropical Medicine at George Washington University and president of the Sabin Vaccine Institute.

Miguel, of Palawan, Philippines, founded Agape Rural Health Program to help needy and underserved Filipinos improve their quality of life by training individuals and communities to become self-reliant while providing compassionate health services.

In mission work for 50 years, Rambo joyfully gave sight to myriads of India's curable blind, pioneering mobile units for superb eye care in villages, and, as professor, inspiring students to do likewise.

This class joins 17 prior recipients in receiving the honor.

Bul Dau is known as one of the "Lost Boys of Sudan" who at age 13, in 1987, fled his home to begin a perilous journey spanning more than 1,000 miles and 14 years.  His story is traced in the award-winning documentary, God Grew Tired of Us. At the 2006 Sundance Film Festival, the film won both the "Grand Jury Prize: Documentary" and the "Audience Award" in the "Independent Film Competition: Documentary" category.

Kaptur, of Toledo, is being honored for her career-long support of medical missions and the improving the lives of others throughout the world in her role as a member of Congress.

All of the living awardees will be in attendance on April 5. The posthumous inductees will be represented by their children.

For more information, contact Dan Saevig, associate vice president of alumni relations at UT, at 419-530-4008.

Posted by KO