Two More Counties Added to Disaster Declaration for Flooding

FINDLAY -- Two counties have been added to the presidential disaster declaration as a result of the severe storms and flooding that started on August 20.  People and business owners in Hardin and Seneca counties can now apply for aid, joining people in Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Putnam, Richland and Wyandot counties that were part of the original designation.

"I appreciate the president and FEMA officials approving the addition of these two counties to this federal disaster declaration, and I thank our federal partners for their efforts to aid our communities during this time of recovery," said Ohio Governor Ted Strickland in a prepared statement released by FEMA.  "Today's announcement is crucial in our efforts to provide Ohioans impacted by the recent flooding with the assistance they need to begin putting their lives and communities back together."

According to FEMA, the individual assistance program can help eligible applicants with grants for temporary housing, and repair or replacement of a homeowner's primary residence. The program may also provide funds to help homeowners pay for necessary losses and expenses caused by the disaster, including clothing, household items, clean-up materials, a primary vehicle, and equipment required for a job or educational purposes, as well as medical and dental costs, moving and storage expenses.

Those who suffered damage and losses from the severe storms and flooding are encouraged to register online at or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech-impaired.  The toll-free numbers are available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. EDT daily.

Count on News 11 to follow this story as it develops.

On the Web:
Apply for FEMA Assistance:

Posted by AEB