Need a summer good read? The library has you covered - News, Weather, Sports, Toledo, OH

Need a summer good read? The library has you covered

TOLEDO, OH (WTOL) -

Toledo Lucas County Public Library presents its top summer reads when you need a good go-to book!

"THE KISS QUOTIENT" BY HELEN HOANG

This is the perfect summer romance novel, with a sunny California setting and an awkward, tender, and utterly sweet romance between its protagonists. Autistic econometrician Stella and vivacious escort Michael are a very unlikely pair, but when she hires him to teach her how to have a relationship, they’re both astonished to develop a powerful personal connection. Michael’s gentle kindness with anxious, wary Stella will melt any reader’s heart. 

"LOST EMPRESS" BY SERGIO DE LA PAVA

A madcap, football-obsessed tale of crossed destinies and criminal plots gone awry, this novel cleverly weaves together a sports drama and a crime story, starring a manipulative mastermind, all told in a style that might best be described as a series of trick plays, fictional feints, and philosophical asides. 

"DEAR MRS. BIRD" BY A.J. PEARCE

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society." 

"THE LIDO" BY LIBBY PAGE

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman’s "A Man Called Ove," "The Lido" is a charming, feel-good novel that follows two women at the opposite ends of life bonding over the closure of a beloved local pool —an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

"THE ELIZAS" BY SARA SHEPARD

Unable to convince anyone that she was pushed before she was rescued from the bottom of a hotel pool, a rising author struggling with depression and memory loss begins to question her sanity as elements from her debut novel mix up with events in her real life. By the best-selling author of "Pretty Little Liars."

You can read more at the library's blog: http://www.toledolibrary.org/blog/great-summer-reads

Copyright 2018 WTOL. All rights reserved.

  • Headlines from Lucas, Wood, Ottawa, Fulton & Monroe CountiesNewsMore>>

  • Jail, courthouse to be affected by boil advisory through Tuesday

    Jail, courthouse to be affected by boil advisory through Tuesday

    Friday, July 20 2018 8:11 PM EDT2018-07-21 00:11:19 GMT
    (A boil advisory is in effect until 5 p.m. Tuesday. The properties affected include the Lucas County jail and the Lucas County Courthouse.)(A boil advisory is in effect until 5 p.m. Tuesday. The properties affected include the Lucas County jail and the Lucas County Courthouse.)

    A water main break on Spielbusch Avenue was reported on Friday, and nearby properties will be affected by a boil advisory for several days. According to the Toledo Department of Public Utilities, crews responded to a heave in the street and then located a water main break. A boil advisory is in effect until 5 p.m. Tuesday. The properties affected include the Lucas County jail and the Lucas County Courthouse. Personnel at the affected locations have been notified. The Toledo-Lucas C...

    More >>

    A water main break on Spielbusch Avenue was reported on Friday, and nearby properties will be affected by a boil advisory for several days. According to the Toledo Department of Public Utilities, crews responded to a heave in the street and then located a water main break. A boil advisory is in effect until 5 p.m. Tuesday. The properties affected include the Lucas County jail and the Lucas County Courthouse. Personnel at the affected locations have been notified. The Toledo-Lucas C...

    More >>
  • Verizon set to end program that helps domestic violence survivors

    Verizon set to end program that helps domestic violence survivors

    Friday, July 20 2018 8:06 PM EDT2018-07-21 00:06:02 GMT
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)

    Verizon Wireless says one of the main reasons they are ending the HopeLine program is because they no longer receive recycled cell phones.

    More >>

    Verizon Wireless says one of the main reasons they are ending the HopeLine program is because they no longer receive recycled cell phones.

    More >>
  • Voters to decide the future of Perrysburg Township roads

    Voters to decide the future of Perrysburg Township roads

    Friday, July 20 2018 7:53 PM EDT2018-07-20 23:53:19 GMT
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)

    Trustees unanimously approved the proposed $1.5 million levy to improve road conditions throughout the township. That's an estimated $15 per year for those who live in a home valued at $100,000.

    More >>

    Trustees unanimously approved the proposed $1.5 million levy to improve road conditions throughout the township. That's an estimated $15 per year for those who live in a home valued at $100,000.

    More >>
Powered by Frankly