Cincinnati Reds set Opening Day Roster - News, Weather, Sports, Toledo, OH

Reds set Opening Day Roster

Twenty-four hours before the first pitch of the season the Reds made a number of player moves to set the opening day roster.  Most notable were the assignment of reliever Logan Ondrusek to AA Pensacola and designating infielder Jason Donald for assignment.

Short stop Cesar Izturis won the job as the extra infielder beating out Donald and Emmanuel Burriss.

Reliever Jose Arredondo was optioned to AAA Louisville with Nick Masset placed on the 15 day disabled list.

The moves mean both left handed reliever Manny Parra as well as Alfredo Simon will be on the opening day roster.  After an outstanding spring, JJ Hoover also secured a spot in the Reds bullpen.

That makes the Reds Opening Day Roster:


  • Bronson Arroyo
  • Homer Bailey
  • Jonathan Broxton
  • Aroldis Chapman
  • Johnny Cueto
  • J.J. Hoover
  • Mat Latos
  • Mike Leake
  • Sam LeCure
  • Sean Marshall
  • Manny Parra
  • Alfredo Simon


  • Ryan Hannigan
  • Devin Mesoraco


  • Zack Cozart
  • Todd Frazier
  • Jack Hannahan
  • Cesar Izturis
  • Brandon Phillips
  • Joey Votto


  • Jay Bruce
  • Shin-Soo Choo
  • Chris Heisey
  • Ryan Ludwick
  • Xavier Paul

Copyright WXIX, All Rights Reserved

Powered by Frankly